support of weather observing and forecast systems. AES represents Canada in the international meteorological community.

An environmental protection service (EPS) ensures that the federal government's responsibilities for environmental protection are carried out and, where necessary, enforced under appropriate legislation. EPS is the focal point for contact and liaison with provincial agencies and with industry on environmental protection. It is also a point of contact with other federal departments and agencies and the public. EPS develops environmental regulations, codes, protocol, and other protection and control instruments to implement governmental legislation. The service is concerned with air and water pollution, waste management including resource recovery, environmental contaminants, environmental impact assessment and control and environmental emergencies.

Responsibility for environmental control is shared by federal, provincial and municipal governments. EPS co-operates with provincial and territorial governments to which in some instances responsibilities are

delegated.

An environmental management service (EMS) undertakes programs related to inland waters, lands, forestry and wildlife. These programs involve direct resource management in areas of federal jurisdiction (migratory birds, international waters), co-operative programs with provincial governments in areas of shared responsibility, research, data collection and advice on the policies and programs of other federal departments. Most of the work of EMS is carried out through regional establishments and national research institutes.

The department co-ordinates the government's relationships in environmental and resources matters with the provinces and with other countries. Advice to the minister is provided by an environmental advisory council and a separate forestry advisory council which includes representatives from industry. universities and the scientific community.

Export Development Corp. EDC operates under authority of the Export Development Act (RSC 1970, c.E-18, as amended). A Crown corporation, it provides a wide range of insurance, guarantee and loan services to Canadian exporters and foreign buyers to facilitate and develop export trade. EDC reports to Parliament through the minister of industry, trade and commerce. Its affairs are administered by a 12-member board of directors chaired by the corporation's president. The board consists of senior representatives of government and the Canadian financial and private business sectors. The principal services are: export insurance, to insure Canadian exporters of goods and services against non-payment by foreign buyers due to credit or political events over which neither buyer nor seller has any control; a package for performancerelated insurance and guarantees for Canadian manufacturers, consulting engineers, construction firms, banks, surety companies and other financial institutions; long-term export loans to foreign buyers in respect of the purchase of capital goods or major services from Canada when extended terms are necessary to meet international credit competition; and foreign investment insurance, to insure Canadian investments abroad against non-commercial risks such as war or revolution, expropriation or confiscation, or the inability to repatriate capital or earnings. EDC may also guarantee financial institutions against loss when they are involved in an export transaction by financing either the Canadian supplier or the foreign buyer.

External Affairs, Department of (External Affairs Canada). The main function of the department, established in 1909, is the management of Canada's foreign relations; to this end, the department functions as a central policy agency. The responsible minister is the secretary of state for external affairs. The senior permanent officer (deputy minister) of the department, the under-secretary of state for external affairs, is assisted by five deputy under-secretaries and by four assistant under-secretaries and is advised by officers in charge of bureaus, divisions, and special or single-purpose units. Directors general or directors of these units are assisted by foreign service officers, specialists in various occupational groups and an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as high commissioner, ambassador, minister, minister-counsellor, counsellor, first secretary, second secretary, third secretary and attaché at diplomatic posts, and consul general, consul and vice-consul at consular posts. Canada maintains 199 diplomatic, consular and other missions, of which 11 are permanent delegations to international organizations, 68 are non-resident, two are delegations to international conferences, and 14 are honourary

In Ottawa the department's work is conducted by regional, functional and administrative bureaus and operational units. The five regional bureaus administer 13 geographical divisions, each responsible for the countries of a region. Eleven functional bureaus, comprised of 29 divisions, are concerned with energy, trade and general economic relations; consular services; co-ordination; defence and arms control; development, industry and science relations; legal affairs; international cultural relations; information; intelligence analysis and security; economic intelligence; and United Nations affairs. Four administrative bureaus are responsible for personnel, finance and management services, communications and general services, and physical resources.

In addition, there is a secretariat for an interdepartmental committee on external relations, an interdepartmental inspection service, a chief of protocol, an operations centre, a chief air negotiator, a passport office in Ottawa and seven regional passport offices, a press office, an information service, a